Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Fernando Aguerre on IOC’s Inclusion of Surfing in Tokyo 2020 Games Teaser

Surf Park Summit 2 | Tony Perez Interview Teaser

Fernando Aguerre on the IOC’s Inclusion of Surfing in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games (Teaser Version)

For access to the full versions of all the Surf Park Summit 2 interviews, presentations and panels you can register as a Surf Park Insider today. If you’re already a member please login here. Interested in learning more about the Summit? Download the full Surf Park Summit 2 event program here.


Fernando Aguerre is the President of the International Surfing Association which is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing.

Fernando Aguerre was born in Mar del Plata, Argentina where he founded the Argentinean Surfing Association in 1978 and led efforts that reversed a military ban on surfing in 1979. He completed his Law degree in 1984, the same year he founded the surf brand Reef which was sold to VF Corporation in 2005. Founded the Pan American Surfing Association in 1992, and became President of the International Surfing Association (ISA) in 1994. Fernando led the expansion of the ISA to 100 member countries and efforts that resulted in surfing’s inclusion in the 2019 Pan American Games and 2020 Olympic Games. He founded Surfrider Foundation in Argentina, the SIMA Humanitarian Fund, and Liquid Nation Ball fundraiser. He has served on the boards of SurfAid International and Save the Waves and was awarded the Dick Baker Memorial Award in 2012, and the Waterman of the Year Award in 2013. Fernando speaks three languages, is a happily married father of four, and still finds time to surf almost daily around his home in La Jolla California


The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Surfing and Racing, and all other wave riding activities. Along with its World Championship Series, the ISA works to develop global surfing by providing educational programs in the areas of Judging & Officiating, Coaching & Instructing, Surf School Accreditation, Adaptive Surfing, and also provides an ISA Individual Scholarship Program for Junior (under-18) surfers. ISA membership includes the surfing National Governing Bodies of 99 countries on five continents. Its headquarters are located in La Jolla, California. It is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (Argentina), first elected President in 1994 in Rio de Janeiro and re-elected eight times since. The ISA’s four Vice-Presidents are Karín Sierralta (PER), Layne Beachley (AUS), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL).